The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association

The Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) is a national organization that provides collegiate riders of all skills the opportunity to compete individually and as teams in equestrian competition. It was founded on the principle that any college student should be able to participate in horse shows regardless of his or her riding ability or financial status.  The country is divided into six zones with at least two regions in each zone; each region consists of about ten teams. All members of a given region meet for at least eight shows per year. The University of Richmond Equestrian Team competes in IHSA Zone IV, Region 4. The members of IHSA Zone IV, Region 4 are as follows:

  • University of Richmond
  • Christopher Newport University
  • Longwood University
  • Randolph-Macon College
  • College of William & Mary
  • University of Mary Washington
  • Old Dominion University
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Liberty University
  • Sweet Briar College

The inclusive nature of ISHA welcomes riders of all disciplines and experience. Riders will work with Richmond coaches to perfect their abilities to suit their designated class. All classes are English Hunt Seat Equitation based. Classes are as follows:

  1. Introductory
  2. Pre-Novice
  3. Novice
  4. Limit Flat
  5. Limit Over Fences
  6. Intermediate Flat
  7. Intermediate Over Fences
  8. Open Flat
  9. Open Over Fences